Welcome
Welcome to goprouser

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you full access to view most discussions and access.. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements if any. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today! Any issues email goprousergroup@gmail.com

New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby suryaprihadi » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:08 pm

That data is from ExifTool :)

Oops sorry, those was from a program called : Registrator Viewer.

ExifTool can not read GPS data file if encoded in the video. I read FFMPEG also can't read such embedded data. Me too IT dummy to test FFMPEG. :mrgreen:

.
I am a Forum Sponsor not because I sell stuff.
I owe my knowledge to this forum and I would like to do some payback.
.
suryaprihadi
Forum Sponsor
Forum Sponsor
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 3:52 am

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby no66 » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:58 pm

I'm no expert, but according to David Newman, the gps is a separate track, just like the audio in side the mp4 container.

I see some people are using ExifTool to extract data from other gps cams. Maybe give it a shot. I don't have time.

Anyway, hope GoPro gets a move on and gets something out like the Garmin sw.
no66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:04 pm
Location: Sætre, Norway, 3rd planet from the sun

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby suryaprihadi » Wed Nov 23, 2016 9:29 pm

I did try with EXIFTooL.
No GPS data of the tracking kind.
If small single data like photo, probably EXIFTool can read, but not the streaming type.
I even tried using Garmin VIRB Studio to extract data out, but did not work .. LOL
To read a G force ( like my special car use , a GPS unit for G-Force ), the GPS must be at least 10hz.
So if this GP uses 18hz one, the GPS based data will be massive.
I am a Forum Sponsor not because I sell stuff.
I owe my knowledge to this forum and I would like to do some payback.
.
suryaprihadi
Forum Sponsor
Forum Sponsor
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 3:52 am

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby no66 » Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:59 pm

I suppose we will have to wait. I know that data can be extracted as the tweet from David says:

Playing around with Dashware and HitFilm using real telemetry data from a GoPro HERO5


I tried Dashware, but no go.
no66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:04 pm
Location: Sætre, Norway, 3rd planet from the sun

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby chernowii » Tue Nov 29, 2016 7:15 am

Hey everyone, its me again,
I'm also interested into getting the GPS coordinates from a GoPro HERO5 Video to later use it in Google Earth and to run analytics/statics and that sort of stuff, Thanks to Gary Rowe who kindly provided me with a sample HERO5 video I was able to get some sort of data. Ok, here we dive in. I will be using this thread as a progress tracker, my goal is to make a script which exports a GPX map with the track and a SRT and JSON file with the Altitude/G's/Speed...
Video Streams

Using FFmpeg, here is a HERO5 Black video MP4 file broken down:

ffmpeg -i GOPR0010.MP4
Code: Select all
    Metadata:
      creation_time   : 2016-11-23 17:28:33
      handler_name    :    GoPro AAC
      timecode        : 17:46:20:12
    Stream #0:2(eng): Data: none (tmcd / 0x64636D74) (default)
    Metadata:
      creation_time   : 2016-11-23 17:28:33
      handler_name    :    GoPro TCD
      timecode        : 17:46:20:12
    Stream #0:3(eng): Data: none (gpmd / 0x646D7067), 33 kb/s (default)
    Metadata:
      creation_time   : 2016-11-23 17:28:33
      handler_name    :    GoPro MET
    Stream #0:4(eng): Data: none (fdsc / 0x63736466), 13 kb/s (default)
    Metadata:
      creation_time   : 2016-11-23 17:28:33
      handler_name    :    GoPro SOS


TCD (Stream 0:2) as specified before is the TIMECODE, 0:3 seems to be the GPS, Gyro, etc... data, and 0:4 is rather interesting, its an info dump, before diving in let's do my favorite string and grep procedure:

Code: Select all
strings GOPR0010.MP4 > GOPR0010.txt


strings GOPR0010.txt | grep GPSPS

Which outputs:

Code: Select all
161123172833.604GPSPS
161123172834.539GPSPS
161123172835.529GPSPS
161123172836.574GPSPS
161123172837.564GPSPS
161123172838.554GPSPS
161123172839.544GPSPS
161123172840.589GPSPS
161123172841.524GPSPS
161123172842.569GPSPS
161123172843.559GPSPS
161123172844.549GPSPS
161123172845.594GPSPS
161123172846.529GPSPS
161123172847.519GPSPS
161123172848.564GPSPS
161123172849.499GPSPS
161123172850.544GPSPS
161123172851.534GPSPS
161123172852.579GPSPS
161123172853.569GPSPS
161123172854.504GPSPS
161123172855.549GPSPS
161123172856.594GPSPS
161123172857.529GPSPS
161123172858.574GPSPS
161123172859.509GPSPS
161123172900.554GPSPS
161123172901.599GPSPS
161123172902.534GPSPS
161123172903.579GPSPS
161123172904.569GPSPS
161123172905.559GPSPS
161123172906.549GPSPS
161123172907.594GPSPS
161123172908.529GPSPS
161123172909.519GPSPS
161123172910.564GPSPS
161123172911.554GPSPS
161123172912.544GPSPS
161123172913.534GPSPS
161123172914.579GPSPS


What is this?

Let's take the last one, 161123172914.579GPSPS:

161123 172914 .579 GPS PS

Then:

161123 17:29:14 .579 GPS PS

Now, see the GPSPS list again, notice how the number between 161123 and the decimal point increases till 60 and then the middle two numbers increase by 1? That seems to be the time of the GPS location. The other numbers I don't really know

FFmpeg

Ok, now try with FFmpeg.

ffmpeg -i GOPR0010.MP4

Input #0, mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2, from 'GOPR0010.MP4':
Metadata:
major_brand : mp41
minor_version : 538120216
compatible_brands: mp41
creation_time : 2016-11-23 17:28:33
location : +52.0463+000.7532/
location-eng : +52.0463+000.7532/


Not exactly what I wanted...

exiftool GOPR0010.MP4

Code: Select all
[konrad@konrad-laptop HERO5 Black]$ exiftool GOPR0010.MP4
ExifTool Version Number         : 10.20
File Name                       : GOPR0010.MP4
Directory                       : .
File Size                       : 229 MB
File Modification Date/Time     : 2016:11:27 21:14:18+01:00
File Access Date/Time           : 2016:11:27 22:18:09+01:00
File Inode Change Date/Time     : 2016:11:27 22:18:10+01:00
File Permissions                : rw-r--r--
File Type                       : MP4
File Type Extension             : mp4
MIME Type                       : video/mp4
Major Brand                     : MP4 v1 [ISO 14496-1:ch13]
Minor Version                   : 2013.10.18
Compatible Brands               : mp41
Movie Data Size                 : 240082274
Movie Data Offset               : 28
Movie Header Version            : 0
Create Date                     : 2016:11:23 17:28:33
Modify Date                     : 2016:11:23 17:28:33
---
GPS Coordinates                 : 52 deg 2' 46.68" N, 0 deg 45' 11.52" E
Firmware Version                : HD5.02.01.50.00
---
Handler Class                   : Media Handler
Handler Type                    : NRT Metadata
Handler Description             : GoPro SOS
Gen Media Version               : 0
Gen Flags                       : 0 0 0
Gen Graphics Mode               : srcCopy
Gen Op Color                    : 0 0 0
Gen Balance                     : 0
Other Format                    : fdsc
Avg Bitrate                     : 45.1 Mbps
GPS Latitude                    : 52 deg 2' 46.68" N
GPS Longitude                   : 0 deg 45' 11.52" E
Image Size                      : 1920x1080
Megapixels                      : 2.1
Rotation                        : 0
GPS Position                    : 52 deg 2' 46.68" N, 0 deg 45' 11.52" E


Seems that "GPS Coordinates" and "GPS Position" parameters return a valid GPS address! That address is the start of the video, when the camera started recording.

52 deg 2' 46.68" N, 0 deg 45' 11.52" E ==> 52°02'46.7"N 0°45'11.5"E

Tracks

Track 0:2 does not seem to contain anything human-readable, here is a hexdump if it helps:

Code: Select all
[konrad@konrad-laptop HERO5 Black]$ cat stream0_2.txt | hexdump
0000000 3900 7099                             
0000004


Track 0:3 is the GPSPS stuff and GYRO mentions, cannot really decipher much.

Track 0:4 is interesing:

Code: Select all
[konrad@konrad-laptop HERO5 Black]$ cat stream0_4.txt | strings
GPRO,
HD5.02.01.50.00LAE6090511109608
+CXXXXXXXXXX [redacted]
HERO5 Black
+52.0463+000.7532/


52.0463+000.7532 is probably the start GPS address in a format unknown to me.

This is all I have. Please post here if you have any more findings!

Konrad.
User avatar
chernowii
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:50 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby suryaprihadi » Tue Nov 29, 2016 5:16 pm

Nice Konrad. Thank u :)

Me IT dummy when it compares to the kind of skill you have... he he he.
However I may be able to help on the GPS read out.

52.0463+000.7532 is probably the start GPS address in a format unknown to me.

Usually GPS do not send out this kind of format as raw data : 52 deg 2' 46.68" N, 0 deg 45' 11.52" E ==> 52°02'46.7"N 0°45'11.5"E which is called degrees minutes seconds.

But they will output Decimal Degrees, example 52 deg 2' 46.68" N = 52.046300 and 0 deg 45' 11.52" E = 0.753200°
That is why the data you get is originally :
location : +52.0463+000.7532/ << this is decimal degree.

If there is no "-" ( minus sign ) for latitude that means it is northen hemisphere. If there is MINUS sign, it is southern hemisphere or below the Equator.

If there is no "-" ( minus sign ) for Logtitude that mean it is east of GMT/UTC ( Greenwitch Mean Time / Universal Time Coordinate )
If there is a MINUS sign, it is to the west of UTC/GMT.

It seems GP uses the "+" sign for cordinate too, better as it will be easier to not guess around.

Acurracy is highest with Decimal Degrees as if there is one 1 extra digit added if GPS can achieve that kind of accuracy , the resolution is then better and also the least confusing to write as there is no ' ( minute ) or " (seconds ) or North/west

GPS coordinate there are 3 formats :
Degrees minutes seconds
Degrees decimal minutes
Decimal degrees <<<< alll GPS I own, its raw data is this format

and surveyor can use land base version called Universal Transverse Mercator

.
I am a Forum Sponsor not because I sell stuff.
I owe my knowledge to this forum and I would like to do some payback.
.
suryaprihadi
Forum Sponsor
Forum Sponsor
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 3:52 am

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby no66 » Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:33 pm

Intresting stuff. Keep at it :-)
no66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:04 pm
Location: Sætre, Norway, 3rd planet from the sun

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby mikerb » Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:03 am

I am still in the process of deciding whether to get the Hero 5 black or Session 5 and I saw the release of GPS metrics on Quik so I downloaded Quik to check it out. Not impressed. Confusing to use and seemed purely aimed at producing simple short clips for sharing on social media. Obviously Hero 5 has GPS and Session 5 does not so effective use of that data could be a decider for me. As per posts above it also seems the GPS data is embedded in the mp4 data stream. That means it adds to the processing power required and (as far as I know) there is no way to stop Hero 5 recording the data whether it is needed or not. It is also not a separate stream that can be processed in different software. I use my GPS output for other purposes as well as adding it to my video and that is not possible it seems with GPS recorded by Gopro.
I currently get a full set of metrics onto my Gopro footage by using a separate GPS doplar device, importing the GPX file into Virb Edit and synchronising/customising the gauges in Virb Edit. I can then pull those clips into my NLE suite for full post editing and high quality render. So currently I prefer my existing system to what Gopro is offering via Quik.
mikerb
 
Posts: 1230
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:14 am
Location: Weymouth

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby suryaprihadi » Sun Dec 04, 2016 5:32 am

Hi Cher/Konrad,




What is this?

Let's take the last one, 161123172914.579GPSPS:

161123 172914 .579 GPS PS

Then:

161123 17:29:14 .579 GPS PS

Now, see the GPSPS list again, notice how the number between 161123 and the decimal point increases till 60 and then the middle two numbers increase by 1? That seems to be the time of the GPS location. The other numbers I don't really know


These :

161123172833.604GPSPS
161123172834.539GPSPS
161123172835.529GPSPS
161123172836.574GPSPS
161123172837.564GPSPS
161123172838.554GPSPS
161123172839.544GPSPS
161123172840.589GPSPS
161123172841.524GPSPS
161123172842.569GPSPS
161123172843.559GPSPS
161123172844.549GPSPS
161123172845.594GPSPS
161123172846.529GPSPS
161123172847.519GPSPS
161123172848.564GPSPS
161123172849.499GPSPS
161123172850.544GPSPS
161123172851.534GPSPS
161123172852.579GPSPS
161123172853.569GPSPS
161123172854.504GPSPS
161123172855.549GPSPS
161123172856.594GPSPS
161123172857.529GPSPS
161123172858.574GPSPS
161123172859.509GPSPS
161123172900.554GPSPS
161123172901.599GPSPS
161123172902.534GPSPS
161123172903.579GPSPS
161123172904.569GPSPS
161123172905.559GPSPS
161123172906.549GPSPS
161123172907.594GPSPS
161123172908.529GPSPS
161123172909.519GPSPS
161123172910.564GPSPS
161123172911.554GPSPS
161123172912.544GPSPS
161123172913.534GPSPS
161123172914.579GPSPS

This...... I am sure the time and date and a clock with 1/1000 seconds if not 1/600 seconds. I am betting it is 1/1000 second, same as my Solo 3DR drone GPS logs, which the GPS is a 10hz.

Say the .......
161123172900.554GPSPS >>> 2016 Nov 23rd 17:29:00 and 1/544 second or 5pm, 29 minutes, 0.554 seconds.
161123172901.599GPSPS >>> 5 pm 29 minutes 1.599 seconds.
Usually if raw GPS data, the time will be UTC and not local.
Good thing it is not epoch date. :mrgreen:

GPS epoch date
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epoch_(reference_date)

We need to find the partner data of the time which will be the GPS coordinate data per 1 second.
I think it is in that GoPro SOS metadata, which I suspect the G-Force data is there too, acceleration data not true G-force .
I dont know if this info is correct from REGISTRATOR VIEWER, but I am seeing "FDSC, 9kbps, 72.9fps - GoPro SOS meta" from a 25 fps video.
If a person/object move so fast per 1/10 second ( 10hz GPS ), the accelaration is measureable with GPS, aside from using an accelerometer sensor.

Acceleration data can come from GPS of 10hz, and supposedly GP uses an18hz one.
However there must be a smoothing algo used to place such high speed data on a 25/30/50/60 frame video, otherwise we the viewer would not
be able to see G force data visually if the changes are so rapid per second.
http://www.datamc.org/data-acquisition/ ... eleration/

I have an automotive performance meter which measures "G-Force" acceleration using a 10hz GPS, and older version of this one , 10hz version :
http://www.gtechpro.com/

The popular one is this brand : ( was very expensive a 20 hz GPS back in 2013, hence I bought the other brand )
https://www.vboxmotorsport.co.uk/index. ... nce-meters

Now....how do we extract GPS coordinate from per frame of video ? :mrgreen:

.
I am a Forum Sponsor not because I sell stuff.
I owe my knowledge to this forum and I would like to do some payback.
.
suryaprihadi
Forum Sponsor
Forum Sponsor
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 3:52 am

Re: New version Quik with GPS and sensor overlay

Postby no66 » Mon Dec 05, 2016 2:39 am

mikerb wrote:I am still in the process of deciding whether to get the Hero 5 black or Session 5 and I saw the release of GPS metrics on Quik so I downloaded Quik to check it out. Not impressed. Confusing to use and seemed purely aimed at producing simple short clips for sharing on social media. Obviously Hero 5 has GPS and Session 5 does not so effective use of that data could be a decider for me. As per posts above it also seems the GPS data is embedded in the mp4 data stream. That means it adds to the processing power required and (as far as I know) there is no way to stop Hero 5 recording the data whether it is needed or not. It is also not a separate stream that can be processed in different software. I use my GPS output for other purposes as well as adding it to my video and that is not possible it seems with GPS recorded by Gopro.
I currently get a full set of metrics onto my Gopro footage by using a separate GPS doplar device, importing the GPX file into Virb Edit and synchronising/customising the gauges in Virb Edit. I can then pull those clips into my NLE suite for full post editing and high quality render. So currently I prefer my existing system to what Gopro is offering via Quik.


According to David Newman, head of gopro software, the gps data is a stream like audio. Anway you can turn the gps off in the settings menu on the Hero5, Im sure you can also on the Session.

There will be more software availbile to work with just the gps data.
I bet the next verion of Dashware (owned by GoPro) will have data extraction.
Or event a Studio/Dashware combo like the vrib software.

Just wish they would hurry up!
no66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 7:04 pm
Location: Sætre, Norway, 3rd planet from the sun

PreviousNext

Return to GoPro Quik Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

suspicion-preferred