Welcome
Welcome to goprouser

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you full access to view most discussions and access.. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements if any. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today! Any issues email [email protected]

Session 4 Bluetooth?

The new Cube Camera

Session 4 Bluetooth?

Postby Big Stu » Sun Jan 22, 2017 9:34 pm

Hi
I am a new Go Pro owner and have just purchased a Session 4 and want to know if you can turn the wi-if off and connect to the capture app by Bluetooth.
Thanks
Big Stu

Re: Session 4 Bluetooth?

Postby suryaprihadi » Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:43 pm

The answer is : NO

Bluetooth is made available only because of Apple/iOS device. It is not for data transfer.
The data/picture/video transfer and all communication while using GoPro Wifi Apps ( now called Capture Apps ) is by wifi, which has the data bandwith for the job.

Why Bluetooth and why Apple exclusive ?
A virgin cam connected to the Capture App will need bluetooth handshake first and then wifi, both Android and iOS.
However, when camera is shut down via Capture Apps, only on iOS you can wake up ( power-ON) the cam past 20 minutes.
Past 20 minutes, the wifi get shut down on the cam to save battery and the bluetooth takes over, purely for a low power trigger device.
If I remember correctly, the wake up limit is 6 hours, past this the cam will also shut down the bluetooth.

With an Android, past 20 minutes, you must power-ON the cam manually by hand as the bluetooth is not used in an Android as a low power trigger device.

However, do not ever TURN OFF the iOS device while it put to sleep a GP cam, say 3 hours sleep/stand by/power off is required.