Page 1 of 1

Hero3 Black UART pinout

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:07 pm
by evilwombat
I hope this helps someone. It's 4AM in the morning, and I'm not really sure of anything right now. But, a forum user was kind enough to send me a half-broken Hero3 Black to experiment on, and finding the UART was interesting. Like the Hero2, you do get an ambsh prompt on the UART, but there aren't any debug messages initially (which I guess saves them time). I used the 'mesg rtos on' and 'dmesg rtos' to get the useful messages. Now, sleep time.

Image

Re: Hero3 Black UART pinout

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:54 am
by Vaako
Can you abort the boot process and use bootloader CLI commands?

Re: Hero3 Black UART pinout

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:06 pm
by evilwombat
I think so. The device I tested on was a bit finnicky but shorting TX/RX did the trick at one point. Just don't short them for too long, or you might overflow the input buffer if they don't check for that sort of thing.

Re: Hero3 Black UART pinout

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 8:39 pm
by yong972
Hi Evil,

Can you re-post the UART pin out picture again please. search everywhere on the net but nothing came out.
Thanks!

Re: Hero3 Black UART pinout

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 6:22 am
by evilwombat
Reposted:
hero3-uart.jpg

Re: Hero3 Black UART pinout

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:54 am
by Oriy84
Can u re-post again plx.
image not exist...

Re: Hero3 Black UART pinout

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:51 pm
by evilwombat
Reposted (attached this time).

hero3-uart.jpg